top of page
  • Writer's pictureMrs. Merrill

Makey Makey + Scratch 3

This week I teamed up with my 6 year old and 3 year old sons, to build a Game in Scratch that used the Makey Makey. Of course, most young boys have/play with hot-wheels at some point. My boys are obsessed! We have hundreds of those little metal cars along with 20 plus car tracks. Now to add technology!


Since I teach science, we are currently working on Physics. Specifically how to calculate Speed. So I coded the game in scratch to calculate the speed of the car. To make it more of a game I had the user calculate the Speed after they choose the distance and see the final time. If the user gets the correct answer they get a point.


To utilize the hot-wheels we hooked up the makey makey to the scratch program using paperclips as start and stop gates as sensor triggers. This timed the physical car going down the track. If my boys wanted to make the track a different distance we could alter that in scratch! It was so much fun





2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page